Moto Transporter Trailer Fabrication Stage 2 – Body work Frame

At last I am back to working on the Trailer project. I took these photo’s back in November  so it is high time I sorted out the next stage of construction post.         The body work frame here is getting welded to the main chassis of the trailer as I go, using a MiG welding machine with 0.9mm solid wire and Argon/Co2 Gas mix. I worked out my design using DraftSight which is a very good free program  for 2D drafting (Just type draftsight into Google).

I had a stack of 20mm x 20mm Square Hollow Section (SHS), which I scrounged from a clean up at a mates and set about cutting all the lengths as per the Drawing I produced on Draftsight. I started by tacking together the rear part of the bodywork frame.

 Pleas feel free to comment or ask any questions re the design and construction.
I had a stack of 20 x 20 Box Section or Square Hollow Section to use for the frame work

I had a stack of 20 x 20 Box Section or Square Hollow Section to use for the frame work

 

 

MY design of the body work using Draftsight a free program.

My design of the body work using Draftsight a free program. Here I have switched off parts of the drawing such as axle and wheels to only show the body work framing.

Body Frame Construction3 11-11-12I decided to make the guards by constructing a SHS frame which I will sheet with Aluminium at a later stage.
Body Frame Construction4 11-11-12

Body work Frame now taking shape

Body work Frame now taking shape. My son came and helped with wiring the lights I have used PVC conduit which will tuck away nicely along the Channel section out of harms way. I will seal all ends with silicon to stop the dreaded ants making home inside the conduit.

I added some diagonals to stiffen up the whole trailer. This made a big  difference to the overall stiffness.

I added some diagonals to stiffen up the whole trailer. This made a big difference to the overall stiffness. I have not yet added these to my drawings, but it is fairly easy to see how I have created some triangles which provide extra rigidity. 

I used some 50 x 5 Galvanised Flat Bar which pulled around nicely without having to roll it.

I used some 50 x 5 galvanised Flat Bar which pulled around to form the bull-nosed front nicely without having to roll it.                                                                                                                                                            I designed the trailer to be fairly aerodynamic using a bull-nosed front like a horse float, this is coupled with a sloping roof section which will lift up on gas struts to allow access for loading and unloading bikes.

 

I used the measurement I got from the Drawing I did up. When I laid a piece of SHS along the top it looks like the uprights will match up pretty well around the top.

I used the measurements for the uprights around the bull-nosing I got from the Drawing I  created. When I laid a piece of SHS along the top it looks like the uprights will match up pretty well around the top when I add the rolled sections of the frame.                                                               NOTE: I spaced the uprights to match the cladding sheet widths so that seams will fall directly on the upright member. I intend to us Polyurethane adhesive/sealer to affix the composite cladding panels to the frame work with minimal rivets. 

I needed to roll some 20 x 20 SHS to suit the radius of the sloping top. I managed to gain access to a set of section rollers at previous employers workshop for this. the next post will show these rolled sections installed. The top rail around the Bull Nosing could be  constructed from Flat bar which would have to be cut and fitted as you go around the top edge as this actual profile will not be a straight line. Typically me, my design has not made construction easy, but the challenge of working it out is fun.

Stage 3 will be uploaded shortly.

Leave a Reply

